Elkhorn, NE: Nebraska Resident of the Year

Each year, Nebraska Healthcare Association awards one resident from the State of Nebraska the honor of Resident of The Year. This year Brookestone Meadows resident, Carolyn Howell, was awarded this honor!

Our Administrator, Virginia Leacock, shared with the Association that Carolyn “is a living reflection as Resident Council President of our communities Mission, Vision and Values. She works tirelessly to ensure that people are cared for and cared about. Her listening heart inspires us all to action.”

Carolyn has served as Resident Council President for over 6 years and stated a program called O.W.L.S., Older Workers in the Lords Service. Through the O.W.L.S. she helps residents stay connected to the community through a wide variety of fundraising and drives. She assists with orienting new employees and is always the first to welcome new residents, helping them to adjust to their new home.

April 25th Carolyn traveled to Kearney, NE to receive her award. She spoke eloquently to the crowd of 300 people who gave her a standing ovation. May 9th the celebration continued with an open house at Brookestone Meadows in her honor. We were thrilled to have Eldora Vetter in attendance.

Nebraska is known for being The Good Life, and Carolyn is pleased to share she has found The Good Life at Brookestone Meadows.

Submitted by Michele Magner, Public Relations Coordinator

Brookestone Meadows, Elkhorn, Nebraska